poplablitz.blogg.se

Ova file
Ova file













ova file

In this example, I am scp'ing the ovftool directory to a local VMFS datastore (/vmfs/volumes/datastore1) Ensure you place the contents on either a shared or local datastore as the size of the ovftool content is quite large (~119 MB). Next, you will need to use the scp command to copy the entire /usr/lib/vmware-ovftool directory onto an ESXi host. As you probably have guessed, I was able to get this to work 🙂ĭisclaimer: This is not officially supported by VMware, please test this in a lab before deploying on production systems.īefore you begin, you will need to get the ovftool installed on an existing Linux system, you can use vMA for your convenience.

ova file

#Ova file iso

If this works, it would allow a user to deploy a VM from an OVF or OVA format within the ESXi Shell and would not require a remote system which is great for kickstart deployments or ISO installations. I wanted to see if I could get the ovftool to run in the ESXi Shell as all the necessary libraries and required packages are all self contained within /usr/lib/vmware-ovftool directory. As many of you know, I am a big fan of the ovftool and I have written several articles about the tool such as here and here. The response that I provided was, no it was not possible to deploy an OVF/OVA within the ESXi Shell and recommended the user to take a look at the vSphere Client or the ovftool.įor whatever reason, my brain decided to ponder about this specific question over the weekend (even though I had answered dozen or so questions earlier in the week) and came up an idea that could make this work. I recently answered, what I thought was pretty straight forward question on the VMTN forums about whether it was possible to to deploy an OVA directly onto an ESXi host without leveraging remote tools such as the vSphere Client or the ovftool.















Ova file